Billy MAY & His Orch. - Studio Recordings 1951-53

No tax


Privacy and Security Policy


Delivery Policy


Returns Policy

Billy May was born in 1916 in Pittsburgh, a city that produced a wealth of jazz musicians. At school he learned to play the tuba, trombone and trumpet. He took a keen interest in musical arranging and earned a little extra money by transcribing arrangements from recordings which he then sold to local band leaders. After a career with local bands, he joined Charlie Barnet in 1939 as an arranger and provided Barnet with many hit arrangements. When Charlie wanted to expand his trumpet section, Billy was the natural choice as he was on the spot and he knew the band's arrangements. His talent resulted in his move to Glenn Miller in 1941 where he again provided a string of hit arrangements as well as many notable trumpet solos. When Miller disbanded his orchestra to join the US Army Air Force, Billy jobbed around New York before heading west to California to await his own draft into the Armed Forces. He was found to be medically unfit and looked for work locally.

Also Available By Billy May JASCD323, JASCD395, JASCD406

Track Listing

Disc One
1 All Of Me
2 My Silent Love
3 If I Had You
4 Lulu's Back In Town
5 When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
6 Fat Man Boogie
7 Lean, Baby
8 I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plans
9 Charmaine
10 Orchids In The Moonlight
11 When I Take My Sugar To Tea
12 There Is No Greater Love
13 Unforgettable
14 Silver and Gold
15 Always
16 My Last Affair
17 When Your Lover Has Gone
18 Please Be Kind
19 Mayhem
20 You're Driving Me Crazy
21 Perfidia
22 Diane
23 Tenderly
24 Hello Out There, Hello
25 Memphis In June

Disc Two
1 When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano
2 Love Is Just Around The Corner
3 Easy Street
4 Honest and Truly
5 Gin and Tonic
6 High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)
7 A Cute Piece of Property
8 Driftwood
9 Do You Ever Think of Me
10 Cocktails For Two
11 Top Hat, White Tie and Tails
12 Little Brown Jug
13 Makin' Whoopee
14 Let's Put Out The Light and Go To Sleep
15 You and The Night and The Music
16 Cheek to Cheek
17 Bacchanalia
18 From The Land of Sky Blue Water
19 Gone With The Wind
20 Good Gravy
21 Comin' Thru The Rye
22 Romance
23 Street of Dreams
24 Dixieland Band
25 Cool Water


Data sheet

Price Code
Release Date
UPC Bar Code No
Not available in USA
New product